Kit Sloane

Forget The Hollywood Reporter...Kit Sloane'S got the tinsel town lowdown...

Email Author: Mail

Author of the Margot O’Banion & Max Skull mystery series, Kit Sloane’s offbeat stories chronicle the intricacies of Hollywood filmmaking from the point of view of her protagonist, feature film editor Margot O'Banion and her significant other, director Max Skull. The first four books in the series were published by Deadly Alibi Press (now defunct) and two more, EXTREME CUISINE and LOCATION LOCATION, are from Durban House Publishing. The seventh, THE FAT LADY SINGS, is newly released by Oak Tree Books, with the eighth, THE MAGICIANS, due out fall 2010. A screenplay of the second in the series, GRAPE NOIR, whose cover by her daughter Annie Sperling was an Anthony nominee in 2002 for best cover art, is bouncing around Hollywood, searching for a home.
A graduate in Art History from Mills College, Oakland, California, Kit has published short stories and many articles on the art of writing and the writing business. She served as first fiction editor for Futures Mysterious Anthology Magazine. She especially enjoys lecturing about the writing world and mentoring new writers. She is a long time member of Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, and Mystery Women of the UK and was named one of Mills College’s Literary Women for 2007.
Kit and her professor husband live on a small hilltop horse ranch in Northern California's sublime wine country.

Mysteries by Author:

  • Margot and Max Mystery series:
  • Grape Noir
  • Final Cut
  • Bad Actors
  • Last Words
  • Extreme Cuisine
  • Location Location
  • The Fat Lady Sings
  • The Magicians (Fall 2010)

For lots more information, please visit Kit Sloane at